Main Content

JCPL Administration


Indiana public libraries are funded primarily by county property taxes. Other income is derived from the state, county adjusted gross income tax, bank tax, fines, fees, and copy machine receipts. The Jasper County Public Library serves approximately 31,525 people living in the county (excluding Carpenter Township). According to state law, the library is governed by an appointed, unpaid, seven-member board of local citizens.

Director and Administration Staff

Patty Stringfellow, Director of the Jasper County Public Libraries, has been a Jasper County resident since 1994. She began working at JCPL in 1997 as satellite and volunteer coordinator. In 1999 she became Headquarters Librarian for the Rensselaer Public Library, holding that position until assuming Directorship in January 2006. Patty graduated from Purdue University with a Bachelor's Degree in Public Relations and from Indiana University with a Master's Degree in Library Science.

Rayann Gilmore started working at Jasper County Public Library in April 2004, and has served in various roles as a page, clerk and library assistant before becoming the Business Manager in July 2012. As Business Manager, Rayann works behind the scenes handling the day to day business operations of the library and assisting the director. Her primary responsibilities include the bookkeeping, accounts payables and receivables, supply inventory/ordering, and general office duties.

Library Board of Trustees

2024 Board Members              

Kevin Kaluf - President. Kevin was appointed by the County Council. His term will expire June 30, 2024.

Julie Davidson - Vice President. Julie was appointed by the presidents of the KV School Board and West Central School Board. Her term will expire August 2, 2027.

Kristie Housman - Secretary. Kristie was appointed by the Rensselaer Central School Board. Her term will expire May 11, 2025.

Mark Heinig - Treasurer. Mark was appointed by the Rensselaer Central School Board. His term will expire May 9, 2026.

Janett Kingman - Asst. Treasurer. Janett was appointed by the County Council. Her term will expire December 31, 2025.

Janelle Harper - Janelle was appointed by the County Commissioners. Her term will expire December 31, 2026.

Kayla deJong - Kayla was appointed by the County Commissioners. Her term will expire December 31, 2027.

Board Meeting Dates for 2024

Meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. at the Rensselaer Library unless otherwise noted

  • Monday, January 8
  • Monday, February 12 - Rensselaer Librarian & Youth Services Librarian Annual Reports
  • Monday, March 11
  • Monday, April 8 (at DeMotte) - DeMotte Librarian & Children's Librarian Annual Reports
  • Monday, May 13
  • Monday, June 10 - Webmaster Annual Report
  • Monday, July 8
  • Monday, August 12
  • Monday, September 9 (at Wheatfield) - Wheatfield Librarian & Children's Specialist Annual Reports
  • Monday, October 14
  • Monday, November 11 - Technical Services Librarian & Systems Administrator Annual Reports
  • Monday, December 9
  • Friday, December 27 - (Special Year End Meeting-time to be announced)